Minnesota - you're on the clock for Super Bowl LII - 6 February, 2016

We asked and you delivered.

Hundreds of Minnesotans from across the state submitted videos to the Minnesota Super Bowl Host Committee to create a virtual handoff – a video representing the Super Bowl game ball traveling across Minnesota before landing at U.S. Bank Stadium, the site of Super Bowl LII. The video was debuted this morning at the official handoff ceremony after NFL Commissioner Roger Goodell delivered the game ball to Minnesota. 

"The game ball belongs to our entire state, and we are excited that so many Minnesotans were part of our effort to bring it home," said Maureen Bausch, CEO of the Minnesota Super Bowl Host Committee. "Our Minnesota Handoff video showcases our beautiful state, our welcoming people, and our enthusiasm for hosting Super Bowl LII in the Bold North. Now that Minnesota is on the clock, we are excited to celebrate the 52 week countdown to a safe and successful Super Bowl LII!"

The Minnesota Super Bowl Host Committee received over 250 submissions from every corner of the state, from Worthington in the south to as far as the Bois Forte Reservation to the north. You can watch the game ball travel across Minnesota's landscape here – keep your eye out for some notable Minnesotans!

The release of the Handoff video kicks off "Handoff Week" in Minnesota, which will include many ways for Minnesotans to join in the excitement of hosting Super Bowl LII, for example: The Minnesota Super Bowl Host Committee is unveiling billboard countdown clocks around the metro area that will count down the 52 days and weeks until Super Bowl LII.

The Minnesota Super Bowl Host Committee's "52 Weeks of Giving Campaign" begins on Wednesday at a press conference in North Minneapolis to unveil the first of 52 Legacy grants awarded to communities and organizations across the state that are committed to building a healthier and more active future for Minnesota's children. The week will culminate with a "Show Us Your Bold" rally at 5:00p.m. on Friday at the Mall of America's Rotunda featuring Minnesota Vikings players and community leaders – all Minnesotans are encouraged to attend.

Minnesotans should look out for other surprises during Handoff Week to help build excitement for Super Bowl LII in the Bold North! View the entire schedule for Handoff Week at our website www.mnsuperbowl.com. "This event is so much more than a game – it's an opportunity for all Minnesotans to make their own Super Bowl memories; to showcase the Bold North to the world; and to create a positive economic impact on our community for years to come," said Bausch. "We are ready to receive the game ball and start the final drive toward a safe, secure, and successful Super Bowl LII for our visitors and Minnesotans alike."


Sallie Sargent, Houston TX
Susie Petersen, Albert Lea
Susie Petersen, Albert Lea
Brady Christianson, Alexandria
Carolyn Caskey, Duluth
Spam Museum, Austin
Susie Peterson, Albert Lea
Kyle Marti, New Ulm
Alex & Sophie Rofidal, Bemidji
Asher Seering, Duluth
Julian Vazquez, Northfield
Jill Renslow, Bonnie Carlson
Gene Winstead, Bloomington
The Peanuts Gang, Shakopee
Taylor Dale, Minneapolis
Alexander White, Rochester
Robert Chance, Itasca
Alex and Sophie Rofidal, Itasca
Patrick Noll, New Hope
Logan Jahnke, Blue Earth
Melvin Tennant, Minneapolis
Buck Hill Ski Club, Burnsville
Mayo Clinic Surgeons, Rochester
Jeff Locke and ACES, Minneapolis
Karl-Anthony Townes, Minneapolis
Matt Dumba, St. Paul
Susie Peterson, Albert Lea
Buck Hill Ski Club, Burnsville
Kranskulla Women, Mora
Jim Owens, St. Paul
Camp Ripley Command Team, Little Falls
Viktor the Viking, Eden Prairie
Atif Saeed, Minneapolis
Karen Olson, Minneapolis
Chef Andrew Zimmern, Minneapolis
Chris Burrell, St. Paul
Mayor Chris Coleman, St. Paul
Mayor Betsy Hodges, Minneapolis
David Marie as Prince Eric and Traci Allen Shannon as Cinderella, Minneapolis
Charanjit Rihal, M.D., Rochester
K102's Chris Carr and Company, Minneapolis
Lt. Governor Tina Smith, St.
Paul Governor Mark Dayton, St. Paul
Eric Perkins KARE 11, St. Paul
Lee Valsik, Minneapolis
Joan Vorderbruggen, Minneapolis
Eric Dayton, Minneapolis
Gavin Kaysen, Minneapolis
William de la Barre, Minneapolis
Senator Amy Klobuchar, Minneapolis
Sid Hartman, Minneapolis
Skip Traffic, Minneapolis
HCMC EMS Staff, Minneapolis
SMG, Minneapolis
Paul Allen, Eden Prairie
Carl Eller, Minneapolis
Steve LaCroix,
Lester Bagley
Kevin Warren
Steve Poppen
Don Becker of the Vikings, Minneapolis
Mark Wilf, Minneapolis
Bud Grant, Minneapolis. 

Article originally published on PRNewswire published on 5 February 2016