Netball New Zealand unveils new ANZ Premiership - 26 October 2016

Netball New Zealand, in partnership with ANZ, is pleased to announce the ANZ Premiership – New Zealand’s new elite Netball league.

The ANZ Premiership will be the world’s most intensely fought, captivating and innovative female sports league featuring six teams;

  • SKYCITY Mystics
  • Waikato Bay of Plenty Magic
  • Central Pulse
  • Mainland Tactix
  • Ascot Park Hotel Southern Steel
  • and the newly formed Northern Stars.

Headlining the Northern Stars will be internationals Leana de Bruin, Kayla Cullen, Maia Wilson, Courtney Tairi and Malia Paseka, who will be joined by up-and-coming players Holly Fowler, Fa’amu Ioane, as well as Sulu Fitzpatrick, Emma Iversen and Fijian international Afa Rusivakula.

Netball New Zealand chief executive Jennie Wyllie says today is a significant milestone for the ANZ Premiership. “Today is an exciting day for everyone involved in Netball in New Zealand.

We are genuinely excited by the fresh new look and brand of the ANZ Premiership, and are pleased to welcome the Northern Stars into the Netball family,” Wyllie said. “We know fans will be excited and reinvigorated by the ANZ Premiership and the chance to see high energy, innovative Netball played by the fittest, most competitive and driven sportswomen.”

The ANZ Premiership will see teams playing 15 round robin games, including Super Sundays featuring all six teams in action at the same venue, before culminating in a two-game Finals Series with the top three teams. All games will be broadcast live on SKY Sport NZ and played on Sundays, Mondays and Wednesdays.

Article originally published on on 26 October 2016


Oct 26, 2016 81 0 0 - See more at: